Queer As Folk DVD Review

Queer As Folk (DVD) Review
Nominated for 9 Craft Awards (bestowed by the Director’s Guild of Canada) Queer As Folk is a groundbreaking drama series that has built itself a large cult following since its inception in 2000. Based on a British TV series of the same name Queer As Folk is in many ways similar to HBO’s Sex And The City and it’s one of the first TV dramas to be completely centered around the lives of homosexual characters or even have prominent homosexual characters – following on the heels of groundbreaking sitcoms such as Ellen (1994) and Will & Grace (1998). The brainchild of UK-born writer and creator Russell T. Davies Queer As Folk follows the life and times of a group of gay friends as they live out their respective lives in modern-day America…
Set in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania Queer As Folk follows the exploits of a group of gay and lesbian friends who live on or around Liberty Avenue. Most of the scenes take place either in the character’s homes a local diner or the popular gay nightclub Babylon. Lindsay Peterson (Thea Gill) and Melanie Marcus (Michelle Clunie) comprise the lone lesbian couple to star in the series while various gay friends and neighbors such as Brian Kinney (Gale Harold) Michael Novotny-Bruckner (Hal Sparks) Justin Taylor (Randy Harrison) Ted Schmidt (Scott Lowell) Emmett Honeycutt (Peter Paige) etc. deal with each other and their own varying relationships. Composed in a drama/soap opera format Queer As Folk centers wholly on the careers and lives (including sex drugs love friendships tragedies etc.) of its diverse characters maintaining a specific focus on its attempted realistic portrayal and illustration of the American homosexual lifestyle…
The Queer As Folk DVD features a number of interesting episodes including the series premiere in which following a night of entertainment at Babylon with his friends Brian goes home with a man named Justin but has a difficult time conveying to Justin that he doesn’t want to pursue a relationship. Meanwhile friends Lindsay and Melanie are celebrating the birth of their new baby boy Gus… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include “Episode 110” in which Brian evicts Justin after he forgets to set the alarm and the place gets robbed and “Episode 118” in which Justin learns that his parents are getting a divorce while Ted is reunited with Blake…
Below is a list of episodes included on the Queer As Folk (Season 1) DVD:
Episode 1 (Episode 101) Air Date: 01-17-2003Episode 2 (Episode 102) Air Date: 01-17-2003Episode 3 (Episode 103) Air Date: 12-10-2000Episode 4 (Episode 104) Air Date: 12-17-2000Episode 5 (Episode 105) Air Date: 01-07-2001Episode 6 (Episode 106) Air Date: 01-21-2001Episode 7 (Episode 107) Air Date: 01-28-2001Episode 8 (Episode 108) Air Date: 02-04-2001Episode 9 (Episode 109) Air Date: 02-11-2001Episode 10 (Episode 110) Air Date: 02-18-2001Episode 11 (Episode 111) Air Date: 02-25-2001Episode 12 (Episode 112) Air Date: 03-04-2001Episode 13 (Episode 113) Air Date: 03-11-2001Episode 14 (Episode 114) Air Date: 03-18-2001Episode 15 (Episode 115) Air Date: 04-01-2001Episode 16 (Episode 116) Air Date: 04-08-2001Episode 17 (Episode 117) Air Date: 04-15-2001Episode 18 (Episode 118) Air Date: 04-22-2001Episode 19 (Episode 119) Air Date: 04-29-2001Episode 20 (Episode 120) Air Date: 06-10-2001Episode 21 (Episode 121) Air Date: 06-17-2001Episode 22 (Episode 122) Air Date: 06-24-2001


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: